National Concert Hall

New Music Dublin: Crash On The Steps

Join us for our opening fanfare at sunset in the great outdoors! Crash Ensemble presents a brand new composition from the award-winning Grainne Mulvey, music from Ed Bennett’s Accel and Terry Riley's Loops For Ancient-Giant-Nude-Hairy Warriors Racing Down The Slopes Of Battle. The performance will be live and amplified on the steps of the National Concert Hall, free for all.

Curious about new music? This is the perfect opportunity to come along and check it all out - the event is free and accessible for all. To celebrate the opening of the festival, New Music Dublin have commissioned a new composition from the award-winning Grainne Mulvey, to be performed by Crash Ensemble alongside work from her fellow composers Ed Bennet and Terry Riley. Riley's composition Loops for Ancient-Giant-Nude-Hairy Warriors Racing Down the Slopes of Battle was written especially for Crash Ensemble. The concert will be conducted by the young American Ryan McAdams, one of the most exciting and versatile conductors of his generation. McAdams recently conducted the new Donnacha Dennehy and Enda Walsh opera 'The Second Violinist'.

A Celebration of the Arts on International Women’s Day

To mark International Women’s Day for 2017, the National Concert Hall are hosting a panel discussion, music and lots of debate with leading figures from the arts and media sectors.

•Welcome address by Heather Humphreys TD, Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs.

•Performances by Saint Sister, Crash Ensemble and Anú Productions.

•Panel discussion hosted by Sinéad Gleeson (Journalist), with Anne Clarke (Landmark Productions), Moya Doherty (RTÉ), Louise Lowe (Anú Productions), Mary McCarthy (Culture Ireland), Judith Ring (composer), Eithne Shortall (The Sunday Times).

Please note that there is limited availability on tickets. For further details please contact the NCH Box Office on 01-4170000.

New Music Dublin: Tiny Portraits in Tiny Rooms

Taking place in the various rooms and spaces inside the National Concert Hall 

Performances featuring pieces by composers: Ivan FedeleOndřej AdámekUnsuk Chin and Kaija Saariaho.

This is a free ticketed event.  Tickets available from the Box Office of the National Concert Hall one hour before the performance start time on the day of the performance

New Music Dublin 2017 is a partnership initiative of RTÉ, the National Concert Hall and The Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon


New Music Dublin: Festival Club

Programme to include the world premiere of Streets become Liars by Christopher Mayo.


Location: The Studio at the National Concert Hall.

After the main auditorium concert.  Festival Club open to ticket holders for evening Main Auditorium events.

The Rehearsal

Tuesday, 20 September 2016 to Saturday, 24 September 2016

The Rehearsal by Jimmy Eadie 
 20-24th Sept, National Concert Hall Foyer
 ‘The Rehearsal’ takes recordings from Crash Ensemble rehearsals for Composing The Island -small elements, outtakes, snippets, tuning process, etc, which are processed extensively and then replayed through 10 small speakers [each speaker represents a Crash Ensemble performer] placed in the foyer of the National Concert Hall during the final week of Composing The Island.