The Studio, National Concert Hall

Perspectives: Laurie Anderson Residency: The Language of the Future

The Studio, National Concert Hall,
National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2

Monday, 15 May 2017


In May 2017, one of the seminal artists of our time, Laurie Anderson will take up a unique residency at the National Concert Hall.

This residency will see her create and debut three new performances exclusively at the Hall as part of her ongoing work, The Language of The Future.  


Crash Ensemble will perform  Quartet For Sol LeWitt and other quartets, a special pre-concert durational performance of the quartet Laurie Anderson wrote for her teacher Sol LeWitt with imaging alongside the European Premiere Shutter Island by which was commissioned for “Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire”.


Free to ticket holders of main stage events and available on a first come, first served basis tickets available from 5pm. Event 6-8pm.



Renowned for her inventive use of technology - from her 1981 hit O Superman to her appointment as NASA’s first artist-in-residence - Laurie Anderson is one of America’s most daring creative pioneers. Her eclectic, multidisciplinary career has spanned the worlds of art, theatre and experimental music and has seen her create works as a writer, director, visual artist and vocalist. Most recently Anderson has garnered acclaim for her first feature film in almost 30 years - Heart of a Dog - which reflects on the deaths of her husband Lou Reed, her mother, her beloved dog, and such diverse subjects as family memories, surveillance, and Buddhist teachings.


The Language of the Future is the latest chapter in Laurie Anderson's ongoing exploration of the American narrative and how we tell it. Anderson's work crosses borders between dreams, reality and the elusive world of information. Known for her multimedia presentations and innovative use of technology, Anderson spins offbeat adventure stories with her characteristic wit and poignancy.


Presented by NCH

Free State #10

The Studio, National Concert Hall,
National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2

Friday, 5 May 2017

Be the first to hear what’s happening in new music in Ireland.

Crash Ensemble and The National Concert Hall present Free State 10, the most vibrant music from Ireland’s up and coming composing talent, performed by the county’s leading new music group.

FREE STATE #10 is a very fine selection of works by up and coming composers chosen by the players of the ensemble from an anonymous open call. It's brilliant for us to hear the work of composers at the very start of their careers and fascinating to see how new music from Ireland is evolving and developing. Kate Ellis, Crash Artistic Director

2017’s concert was selected from anonymous open submission from Irish by the members of Crash Ensemble.

See where new music is at, check out Free State 10.


Donal Sarsfield: The Snare Piece

Robert Coleman: In Fervorous Frenzy

Daniel McDermott: A Mathematician’s Apology

Timothy Doyle: Veneer

Eric Skytterholm Egan: Fragments | of Shapes | Hewn | in White | Silence

Finola Merivale: Emma Are Eye


Crash Ensemble: Susan Doyle (Flute), Deirdre O’Leary (Clarinet), Colm O'Hara (Trombone), Isabelle O’Connell (Piano), John Godfrey (Electric Guitar), Alex Petcu (Percussion), Mairead Hickey (Violin), Lisa Dowdall (Viola), Kate Ellis (Cello), Malachy Robinson (Double Bass), Camin Gilmore (Double Bass)

Conductor:  David Brophy


Tickets: €15/€10. Early bird €10/€8

Booking: / 01 417 0000

Composing the Island: Here and Now: Crash Ensemble New Music Marathon

The Studio, National Concert Hall,
National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2

Saturday, 24 September 2016

Crash Ensemble 

Roger Doyle 

Raymond Deane 

Andrew Hamilton 

Over three weeks in September (7th – 25th), Composing the Island will present 29 concerts of orchestral, choral, instrumental, song and chamber music by Irish composers written between 1916 and 2016. 

How this music developed, and the times and circumstances in which it was written will unfold over 3 weeks of concerts which will include 6 major orchestral concerts performed by the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and the RTÉ Concert Orchestra, concerts of choral, chamber, song, mixed ensembles and instrumental music recitals, by Ireland’s leading performers will including Crash EnsembleChamber Choir IrelandConcordeVanbrugh QuartetFidelio Trio, Hugh Tinney, and Robin Tritschler.

Crash Ensemble's second concert for the series presents music from the here and now including performances by composers  Roger Doyle, Raymond Deane and Andrew Hamilton.                          


Deirdre Gribbin  Invitation to a journey (extract)  (2014)    

Judith Ring  Swelt belly at dawn  (2013)                                                      

Barry O'Halpin  Lipids  (2014)                                         

Roger Doyle  Performance by composer

Linda Buckley  Fiol  (2008)                                                                                                      

Deirdre McKay  Ice Etchings  (2002)                                                                   

Raymond Deane  Performance by composer

Donnacha Dennehy  Bulb  (2006)                                                                              

Andrew Hamilton  Performance by composer

Garrett Sholdice  Tanka for Aki Takahashi (prelude #5)  (2012)

Ed Bennett  Magnetic  (2010)                                                          

Jonathan Nangle  Pause  (2014)                                                                            

Kevin Volans  White Man Sleeps  (1997)           


Sponsored by Bord na Móna and presented by RTÉ and the National Concert Hall as part of RTÉ 1916 and Ireland 2016.